AMPAS presents An Academy Salute to Stanley Kubrick
By Kathryn Schroeder
November 1, 2012

On November 7th The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences will celebrate the life and career of acclaimed filmmaker, auteur director, Stanley Kubrick with "An Academy Salute to Stanley Kubrick."  The event will be hosted by Malcolm McDowell, star of one of Kubrick's greatest and most controversial films A Clockwork Orange, and will include feature film clips and personal remembrances by Kubrick's friends and collaborators, including Ryan O'Neill, Matthew Modine, and Paul Mazursky.

The salute to Stanley Kubrick is presented in association with the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) and its retrospective screening series "2012: A Kubrick Odyssey," and its exhibition "Stanley Kubrick."  Stanley KubrickTickets for the film retrospective and exhibition for Stanley Kubrick at LACMA are now on sale at LACMA's Website.

The evening also launches the Academy's satellite exhibition "Stanley Kubrick: The Ultimate Trip" in the Academy's Grand Lobby Gallery, where it will be on view through March 3, 2013. The installation illuminates Kubrick's creative process through film posters, photographs, advertising trailers, production design drawings, screenplay drafts, correspondence and other original artifacts.

Exhibition materials are drawn from the collections of the Stanley Kubrick Archive, the Mark E. Blunck Collection and the Academy's Margaret Herrick Library, in collaboration with the Deutsches Filmmuseum in Frankfurt am Main, and LACMA. Viewing hours for "Stanley Kubrick: The Ultimate Trip" are Tuesday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and on weekends from noon to 6 p.m. Admission is free.

Ticket information for "An Academy Salute to Stanley Kubrick":

Tickets are sold out; however, a standby line will form on the day of the event, and standby numbers will be assigned starting at approximately 5:30 p.m. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. Doors open at 6:30 p.m. Ticketed seating is unreserved.

**The information provided herein is provided by The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.